Because Rogue Demanded it: My List of the Top 25 Greatest OPM Songs of All Time

My former officemate Miguel Mari (ah, long story), who is currently one of the honchos at Rogue Magazine, recently conducted a Facebook survey among people who were/are in one way connected with the local music scene about their list of Top 25 All-time OPM songs of all time. Or as Kanye would have said, “OF ALL TIME!”

Now this is the type of topic that can lead to riots if brought up in the context of a drunken bar brawl because this is always highly subjective. What may be gold to you may be pure garbage to my ears. Tastes differ. Furthermore, there are gems in a specific genre (like pinoy hardcore punk) which won’t make the cut in a listing of songs that stretch cross all genres.

But let the chips fall where they may. Here are mine. I tried to be fair and made a selection that crossed over genres (whereas the typical pinoy rock diehard would focus only on Pinoy Rock). Some are quiet lullabies, some are arena anthems. I also tried to list them down as fast as possible. Most of them are from the 20th century, which is when I did most of my critical listening. And as this is my taste, I’m sure you have you have your own, so let’s agree to disagree.

The drum roll please…

And my list of 25 Top OPM songs of all time (in no particular order) is ……..

Himig Natin (Juan de la Cruz Band)
Ang Huling El Bimbo (Eraserheads)
Beep Beep (Juan de la Cruz Band)
Balong Malalim (Juan de la Cruz Band)
Pare Ko (Eraserheads)
Bayan Ko (various artists, notably Freddie Aguilar)
Anak (Freddie Aguilar)
Sa Ugoy Ng Duyan (Lucio San Pedro)
Harana (Parokya ni Edgar)
Umagang Kay Ganda (various artists, notably Tillie Moreno and Ray-Ann Fuentes)
Shout for Joy (Gary Valenciano)
Sayaw sa Bubog (The Jerks)
Limang Dipang Tao (Ryan Cayabyab)
Elesi  (Rivermaya)
Umaaraw, Umuulan (Rivermaya)
214  (Rivermaya)
Piece of This (P.O.T.)
Handog (Florante De Leon)
Pumapatak Ang Ulan (APO)
Banal na Aso (Yano) – as well as the spoof song “Chikinini” by Parokya ni Edgar
Pagbabalik ng Kwago – (Anak Bayan)
Halik ni Hudas (Wolfgang)
Alapaap (Eraserheads)
Huwag Mo Nang Itanong (Eraserheads)

Not my cup of tea, but someone is probably going to mention “Awitin Mo at Isasayaw Ko” by VST & Company which could deserve a shot because this is a bona fide standard already.

Ok, shoot me.

5 thoughts on “Because Rogue Demanded it: My List of the Top 25 Greatest OPM Songs of All Time

  1. Great list, but you’re obviously biased towards the more ‘rock’ or ‘alternative’ genres, except for Gary V. Where’re the likes of Rico J. Puno? Sharon Cuneta? 😀

    1. I did say this was highly subjective and from the mid to late 90s I listened mainly to bands, and the list is reflective of my taste. But I do have standards there like Ugoy ng Duyan, Pumapatak Ang Ulan (old enough to be a standard) and Umagang Kay Ganda.

      If I liked George Canseco, I would include compositions like Ngayon at Kailanman and others there – a more objective listing should include Canseco who is sort like our Gershwin or Cole Porter for the 70s.

      I’m not a big Canseco fan myself but a more objective curator would list him due to his influence on the ballad genre and because those shamltzy songs have become standards.

      Someone else might even make a case for Yoyoy Villame and “Butse Kik” and “Magellan”.

Leave a Reply

